Another one going back to 3.0
And I hope I can get my 3.0 environment reinstalled & restored to the way it was. Pretty much anything that contains the phrase "installing Parallels" makes me nervous now.
Installed 4.0, started to convert my XP VM, got "an error" midway through, the popup referred me to a page on manually completing VM conversion. Following those instructions, I launched setup.exe on the Parallels CD image, but the VM conversion wizard never came up (got the Parallels Tools installer instead), so I have no idea whether or not the VM was converted successfully. 4.0 completely trashed my Ubuntu VM.
Here's a weird one: Before installing 4.0, I backed up my internal drive using Carbon Copy Cloner so I'd have a full, working install of 3.0 if I needed it. The troubleshooting page above suggested that the error in VM conversion might be because my XP account didn't have auto-login enabled (that breaks the upgrade process? WTF?), so I booted off the clone, launched 3.0, enabled auto-login in XP, and quit out of Parallels. Returning to the Finder, the Parallels app had the 4.0 icon. Hitting "Get Info" showed it had a 4.0 version number. Doubleclicking it launched 4.0. This is on the CLONED COPY of my drive I made BEFORE installing 4.0. This is the icon I had JUST CLICKED ON to launch 3.0. There was no copy of 3.0 left on any drive. Explain that one.
The final straw was when modifier keys (shift, option, etc.) stopped working in Filemaker. I asked a FM guru friend about it, and he said, "Hm... did you just install Parallels, by chance?"
I don't even care if he's right or wrong. I've wasted so much time on this 'upgrade' that the wasted $40 it cost pales in comparison to the $$$ in lost work hours.