Stop turning on sharing of entire Mac filesystem

Does this happen to you? If so, how annoying is it?

  • It's a minor nuisance.

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • It's irritating, but I can handle it.

    Votes: 0 0.0%

  • Total voters
    1
  • Poll closed .

RyanL18

Bit poster
It seems like every few weeks, I look in File Explorer in my Windows VM, and my entire Mac filesystem is mounted as a network drive. So is my home directory.
I turn this feature off for a reason; it would be nice if it didn't override my decision and re-enable itself. This time I think it was a Parallels Tools update that triggered the bug.
 
It seems like every few weeks, I look in File Explorer in my Windows VM, and my entire Mac filesystem is mounted as a network drive. So is my home directory.
I turn this feature off for a reason; it would be nice if it didn't override my decision and re-enable itself. This time I think it was a Parallels Tools update that triggered the bug.
Hello,
For us to further investigate the issue that you are facing, kindly provide us with the below information:
1. Reproduce the issue and collect a technical report (right-click Parallels icon in Dock > Help > Send technical data > check "Attach screenshots..." > press Send Report) and provide us with the report's 9-digit ID in reply to this post.
2. Which options did you exactly turned off ?
Thank you.
 
I apologize that it took me over a year to reply, but I am still experiencing this, so I will provide the information you've asked for.

Report ID:
472068691

There is a screenshot attached of the VM Configuration -> Options -> Sharing screen. The two top checkboxes become checked by some background process, and not by me. It is very annoying, because I don't want either of those folders exposed to my VM.

Please let me know if there's anything else I can do to help.
 
This is still unresolved, and I have to manually shut down my VM, go into configure, and disable 'AllFiles' and my home directory. I do not want these shared with my VM.
Randomly, they will re-enable themselves without any interaction from me, which disrupts my drive mappings, and has now cost me at least hours of my time manually resetting it.
This is a really bad bug that needs to be resolved 1.5 years ago!
 
Back
Top