Macintosh Rescue
Member
This post is intended as feedback so I hope that the Parallels moderator team pick this up.
In my home I use a Mac mini and have Parallels Desktop Pro activated in my user profile. My partner has their own user profile as we share this Mac mini and I was unhappy to discover that when my Partner tried to use Parallels Desktop it demanded signing in and would not work when we canceled. If it wasn't bad enough that apparently Parallels expect two subscriptions for the same computer, I then discovered in my user profile that Parallels had deactivated requiring me to sign in again and select my license. I did some testing on another Mac using another licence key that I purchased and it appears than with a shared Mac that if any other user so much as clicks something that launches Parallels Desktop it deactivates for the user who pays for the license.
This is completely unacceptable so I'm having to look into other virtualisation options.
To further illustrate how ridiculous this situation is: if we use fast user switching I can install the virtual machine in my user profile, give it bridged networking, activate its desktop or terminal sharing and the other user can then use the virtual machine through something like Microsoft Remote Desktop or SSH.
I would appreciate a Parallels representatives comment on this.
In my home I use a Mac mini and have Parallels Desktop Pro activated in my user profile. My partner has their own user profile as we share this Mac mini and I was unhappy to discover that when my Partner tried to use Parallels Desktop it demanded signing in and would not work when we canceled. If it wasn't bad enough that apparently Parallels expect two subscriptions for the same computer, I then discovered in my user profile that Parallels had deactivated requiring me to sign in again and select my license. I did some testing on another Mac using another licence key that I purchased and it appears than with a shared Mac that if any other user so much as clicks something that launches Parallels Desktop it deactivates for the user who pays for the license.
This is completely unacceptable so I'm having to look into other virtualisation options.
To further illustrate how ridiculous this situation is: if we use fast user switching I can install the virtual machine in my user profile, give it bridged networking, activate its desktop or terminal sharing and the other user can then use the virtual machine through something like Microsoft Remote Desktop or SSH.
I would appreciate a Parallels representatives comment on this.