Beware of V4.0 behaviour differences with shared VMs
4.0 apparently has changed how it behaves when a VM start is attempted when someone else on the same MAC has left the VM running under a different MAC login ID.
And it appears to have CHANGED FOR THE WORSE. I just upgraded today from V3 and discovered this.
Under V3, if I tried to start a VM that was already running under another login ID, Parallels would throw up an error stating that the VM could not be started because it's already in use. I think there was a lock file in the .pvs package file that governed this. That afforded me a measure of protection. I could then ask my wife to log in and shutdown the VM so I could start it up under my login ID.
Under V4, Parallels goes ahead and tried to start the VM but fails to access all the hard disks and then tries to boot from the network apparently indefinitely. I have to force shutdown the VM. When I then login to the MAC user ID that has the VM running, all hell breaks loose. The VM terminates abnormally. If I try to start it again, it terminates again and puts up the dialog box to submit a problem report. (which I did: #38508).
I got worried that I would never be able to start this VM again but a reboot of the MAC cleared the condition and I could start it again.
Is there anyway that I can setup a protection similar to what was afforded with the lock file in V3?? This is very undesireable behaviour. Frankly, I still thing the V3 behaviour was inconvenient - I wish I could start a VM outside the context of a MAC ID and we could both share it from different IDs but that is a mere inconvenience compared to what is happening how.
Bill Smith