FreeBSD and NFS

Discussion in 'Other Virtual machines' started by abosio, Jul 23, 2008.

  1. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Can anyone help me figure out the right settings for the VM networking configuration and FreeBSD exports so that I can mount NFS no matter where I am?

    I am running Parallels Desktop for Mac on Leopard on a Macbook Pro.

    When I am connected at the office to the LAN, it works with VM set to Shared networking in the following scenario.

    Mac ifconfig:
    Code:
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21e:c2ff:fec3:c773%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5 
    	inet 10.7.50.58 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 10.7.255.255
    	ether 00:1e:c2:c3:c7:73 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    fw0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 4078
    	lladdr 00:1f:f3:ff:fe:26:1b:1c 
    	media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
    	supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
    en2: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:1%en2 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x7 
    	inet 10.211.55.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.211.55.255
    	ether 00:1c:42:00:00:01 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    en3: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:0%en3 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x8 
    	inet 10.37.129.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.37.129.255
    	ether 00:1c:42:00:00:00 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    
    FreeBSD ifconfig:
    Code:
    ed0: flags=8843<UP,BROADCAST,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 1500
    	ether 00:1c:42:e6:45:1c 
    	inet 10.211.55.6 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.211.55.255
    	media: Ethernet autoselect (10baseT/UTP)
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> metric 0 mtu 16384
    	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x2
    	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128
    	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000
    
    FreeBSD /etc/exports:
    Code:
    /usr/home/abosio -maproot=abosio 10.211.55.2
    
    Then I can connect with Command-K and Server Address: nfs://10.211.55.6/usr/home/abosio

    When I am at home, I only seem to be able to get it to work if I switch to Host-only networking, at which point my VM can't see the internet, which is a problem. I believe the only difference at home is that I am connected to an Airport and my Mac IP becomes 192.168.1.x.

    I have tried lots of different ways with Shared and Bridged Ethernet networking on the VM with no success.

    If anyone has any ideas about how to make this work, that would be great.
     
  2. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    Is adapter set to default? in Configuration Editor -Network Adapter
     
  3. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    In the "working scenario" (at the office) it is on Shared, so no.

    In the "not working scenario" (at home) yes, I had it on Default Adapter, not en0: Ethernet Adapter or en1: Airport/Wireless Adapter.

    Should I change it to one of those?
     
  4. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    Usually default should work always, only problem is for internet connection from VM, during location change , if you do not stop VM, when going home (I mean you just pause it)
     
  5. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    This is always starting from a stopped state, not paused.

    So I need to use Bridged with Default and then connect with the 10.211.55.x addresses? (instead of shared?)

    I think I have tried that, but can go through it again.
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2008
  6. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    No, I meant try to use Bridged Ethernet and assign IP from the same range as your Lan
    Another matter I can guess can be problem with Parallels Nat interface,
    Try to check ifconfig -a when at work and when at home from Mac OS side
    if you see 169.254.xxx this is poblem
     
  7. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    When I switch to Bridged, it does automatically get assigned an IP from my LAN but I cannot mount NFS with that address at home (or at the office).

    Mac ifconfig -a from home:

    Code:
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1 
    	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
    	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	ether 00:1f:5b:f4:aa:e0 
    	media: autoselect status: inactive
    	supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control> none
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21e:c2ff:fec3:c773%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5 
    	inet 192.168.1.3 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
    	ether 00:1e:c2:c3:c7:73 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    fw0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 4078
    	lladdr 00:1f:f3:ff:fe:26:1b:1c 
    	media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
    	supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
    en3: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:0%en3 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x7 
    	inet 10.37.129.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.37.129.255
    	ether 00:1c:42:00:00:00 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    en2: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:1%en2 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x8 
    	inet 10.211.55.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.211.55.255
    	ether 00:1c:42:00:00:01 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    
    Mac ifconfig -a from work:

    Code:
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1 
    	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
    	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
    en0: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	ether 00:1f:5b:f4:aa:e0 
    	media: autoselect status: inactive
    	supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control> none
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21e:c2ff:fec3:c773%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5 
    	inet 10.7.50.58 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 10.7.255.255
    	ether 00:1e:c2:c3:c7:73 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    fw0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 4078
    	lladdr 00:1f:f3:ff:fe:26:1b:1c 
    	media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
    	supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
    en3: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:0%en3 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x7 
    	inet 10.37.129.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.37.129.255
    	ether 00:1c:42:00:00:00 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    en2: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:1%en2 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x8 
    	inet 10.211.55.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.211.55.255
    	ether 00:1c:42:00:00:01 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    
    I can't understand why Shared doesn't work at home. None of the addresses involved in that setup get changed.

    To recap at this point:
    - NFS mount works with Shared at office but not at home.
    - NFS mount doesn't work with Bridged at all.
    - NFS mount works at office and at home with Host-Only, but I need internet on the VM.

    I keep changing /etc/exports to reflect my current Mac IP depending on which network setting I am using for the VM.
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2008
  8. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    Try to restart Mac when you come home, and try to access VM, let me know the results
     
  9. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    When I bring the mac home, I am already always starting from a powered-off state. All results above are from that basis.
     
  10. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    Do you have proxy configured at work,
    if yes, are there several locations in System Preferences -Network?
     
  11. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    No proxy at work. Only one location - "Automatic" - in System Preferences-Network.

    p.s. I really appreciate your response (and help) - and totally recognize its ridiculous-ness for a Sunday evening.
     
  12. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
  13. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    I made Ethernet inactive in System Preferences.

    Mac ifconfig -a

    Code:
    lo0: flags=8049<UP,LOOPBACK,RUNNING,MULTICAST> mtu 16384
    	inet6 fe80::1%lo0 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x1 
    	inet 127.0.0.1 netmask 0xff000000 
    	inet6 ::1 prefixlen 128 
    gif0: flags=8010<POINTOPOINT,MULTICAST> mtu 1280
    stf0: flags=0<> mtu 1280
    en0: flags=8822<BROADCAST,SMART,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	ether 00:1f:5b:f4:aa:e0 
    	media: autoselect status: inactive
    	supported media: autoselect 10baseT/UTP <half-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 10baseT/UTP <full-duplex,flow-control> 100baseTX <half-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex> 100baseTX <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 100baseTX <full-duplex,flow-control> 1000baseT <full-duplex> 1000baseT <full-duplex,hw-loopback> 1000baseT <full-duplex,flow-control> none
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21e:c2ff:fec3:c773%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5 
    	inet 192.168.1.3 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 192.168.1.255
    	ether 00:1e:c2:c3:c7:73 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    fw0: flags=8802<BROADCAST,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 4078
    	lladdr 00:1f:f3:ff:fe:26:1b:1c 
    	media: autoselect <full-duplex> status: inactive
    	supported media: autoselect <full-duplex>
    en3: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:0%en3 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x7 
    	inet 10.37.129.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.37.129.255
    	ether 00:1c:42:00:00:00 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    en2: flags=8963<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,PROMISC,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    	inet6 fe80::21c:42ff:fe00:1%en2 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x8 
    	inet 10.211.55.2 netmask 0xffffff00 broadcast 10.211.55.255
    	ether 00:1c:42:00:00:01 
    	media: autoselect status: active
    	supported media: autoselect
    
    Still can't mount on Shared or Bridged.
     
  14. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    There is something with interfaces itself,
    Look
    en1: flags=8863<UP,BROADCAST,SMART,RUNNING,SIMPLEX,MULTICAST> mtu 1500
    inet6 fe80::21e:c2ff:fec3:c773%en1 prefixlen 64 scopeid 0x5
    inet 10.7.50.58 netmask 0xffff0000 broadcast 10.7.255.255
    ether 00:1e:c2:c3:c7:73
    media: autoselect status: active
    supported media: autoselect

    it is from work, but you say in office you are working in LAN, but this is showing AirPort, if you check work configuration you provided it shows that you are connecting by AirPort not Lan
     
  15. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    Yes, sorry. I have been using the Airport at home and at work. I just meant that at work I am connecting to my company's network. (via secured wifi)

    Where in my ifconfig are you see them changing? I'm am not seeing the connection with the link to Apple Discussion Forums.
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2008
  16. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    No, it is ok, now, as you confirmed that in both places you are using AirPort,Situation is getting interesting
    Check can you ssh from Mac to FreeBSD at home, and is there any firewall on Mac oS?
     
  17. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    I'll try ssh when I get home tonight, but I know I can ping between them.

    According to System Preferences -> Security -> Firewall, Mac is currently set to "Allow all incoming connections."
     
  18. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    Ok, great , One more point to clarify, please shutdown OS to, not suspend.
    So, shutdown VM, and Mac OS and at home just turn both on
     
  19. abosio

    abosio Junior Member

    Messages:
    12
    SSH from Mac to FreeBSD VM:

    - Shared: yes
    - Bridged: yes (Default adapter, only en1:Airport in drop-down)
    - Host-only: yes
     
  20. John@Parallels

    John@Parallels Forum Maven

    Messages:
    6,333
    It should work in this case, maybe iptables? try to disable iptables in FreeBSd
     

Share This Page